RHS Arrow

Community Service

STEM-o-Ween 

Experience a hands-on, fun filled day of interactive workshops and thought-provoking discussions and meet new friends and win some prizes along the way. This is a great opportunity to learn and network with industry professionals and get a glimpse of a career in technology. 

Date: Saturday, October 27, 2018 

Time: 9:00 am to 2:30 pm 

Location: Renton technical college, 3000 NE 4th st, Renton, WA 98056 

Register to attend here! (parents are welcome) 

https://stemoween2018.eventbrite.com 

Volunteer opportunity at Skyway library.

We need two tutors everyday, the grade level is 4th grade for reading and 2nd grade math. Days are Mondays and Wednesday from 3:30-4:30pm. This begins Monday, February 26th, 2018. Contact Lisa Richards, lisajohnr97@yahoo.com

Volunteer opportunity 

SCA Conservation Leadership corps  

Crews of 12 students and 2 adult leaders meet one evening a month and one weekend a month, from January to May. Crews will do hands on service work such as ecological restoration, trail building, and urban farming, explore issues related to conservation, environmental justice, social justice and team-building, and take part in outdoor recreation such as backpacking, snowshoeing, kayaking and much more!  

Applications due November 25th. Applications accepted on a rolling basis, so apply early!  

  • Earn up to 90 service hours  
  • Learn about conservation, leadership, and outdoor recreation 

Contact Michael Helms 206.905.6144 mhelms@thesca.org 

Volunteer opportunity with the city of Renton.

Apply at www.rentonwa.gov or 425-430-6600

Monthly meetings: Second Tuesday at 4:40-6:00pm; locations vary.

requirements: you must be a Renton city resident between the ages of 15-21 years old. You must attend the meetings regularly in the 2 year term.

You are required to do 20 hours of community service to graduate. The minimum is 20 hours, but the more you do, the more connections you get. AND it looks more impressive. 80-99 hours for a bronze level, 100-119 for a silver level, 120+ hours for a gold level.

Community service time logs are in the counseling office.

Resources to go to:

Just serve: www.justserve.org

Seattle works: www.seattleworks.org

United Way of King County: www.uwkc.org/volunteer/

Volunteer Match: www.volunteermatch.org/

 

Just a few (Many more if you go to the Career Center in the Library and talk to Ms.Fulmer):

American Red Cross: www.redcross.org/wa/seattle/volunteer

 

Bloodworks Northwest: www.bloodworksnw.org

Boys & Girls club of Renton/Skyway: www.positiveplace.org/locations/rentonskyway/investinkids/Pages/volunteer.aspx

Children’s Museum: www.thechildrensmuseum.org/donate/volunteer/

Green Seattle: www.greenseattle.org

King County Animal Care and Control: http://kingcounty.gov/depts/regional-animal-services/get-involved/volunteer-program.aspx

Museum of Flight: www.museumofflight.org/careers/volunteering-opportunities

Northwest Harvest www.northwestharvest.org/sign-upapply-to-volunteer

Pride Foundation: www.pridefoundation.org/what-we-do/scholarships/volunteer-application/

Renton History Museum: www.rentonwa.gov/rentonhistorymuseum/

Seattle Aquarium: www.seattleaquarium.org/volunteer

This is just the short list of the many opportunities and community service programs for a longer list, go to the career center there’s a whole packet!

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Student News Site of Renton High School
Community Service